Video & Details Of The ‘Inside Out’ play set Coming To Disney Infinity 3.0

maxresdefault (4)

UPDATE: Some extra details have come out regarding the figures as well, so be sure to check those out as well!

Disney Infinity has taken the wraps off the Inside Out play set that will be coming later this year to Disney Infinity 3.0.

Here are the official details…

Based on Disney•Pixar’s much anticipated film Inside Outreleasing June 19 in North America, the Inside Out Play Set takes place in Riley’s mind after she inadvertently catches a glimpse of a scary movie as she is falling asleep. Her Emotions — Joy, Fear, Anger, Disgust and Sadness — rally together to calm the turmoil that has overtaken Imagination Land as a result of Riley seeing the movie. Broccoli, pie cannons, bats and even swamp creatures are running rampant through Riley’s mind. As single-player or two-player co-op, players must help Riley’s Emotions journey through Imagination Land, work together using each character’s unique skills to defeat enemies, gather Riley’s displaced memories, and return them to the Long Term with the help of Mind Workers before Riley awakens.

Three different game modes feature a twist on traditional platforming:

  • Clouds, which fade or emit lightning;
  • Musical platforms, which must be precisely timed in sync with the beat, and;
  • Gravity barriers, which flip the player and the world upside down.

Playable characters for the Play Set include Joy, Fear, Anger, Disgust and Sadness. Each figure comes with special powers to combat swamp creatures and other nightmare beasts:

  • Joy – A ray of lighthearted, optimistic sunshine that brings cheer to every adventure. She can glide across gaps the others can’t overcome.

  • Fear – Frightful bundle of nerves is the fastest runner. He can cross bridges and platforms before they collapse.

  • Anger – Hot-headed powerhouse can cross beds of hot lava with ease.

  • Disgust – Always disgusted, she repels off the clouds letting her jump higher than anyone.

  • Sadness – Worrisome friend turns waves of sadness into melancholy fun, and can travel on clouds without them fading beneath her.


Game Informer has posted their exclusive preview of the play set as well, here are some core details from their article

  • This is a ‘sequel story’. This story is not the same storyline as you will see in the Inside Out movie.
  • The Play Set is focused more on platforming that pure combat focus like in previous play sets
  • Each character has their own special ability, giving players the option to switch around based on their preference in the level
    • Anger — runs across lava
    • Disgust — Jumps high
    • Fear — Runs quickly
    • Joy — Glides across large gaps
    • Sadness — Walks across clouds
  • The play set is able to be completed in a single player mode, but they added mechanics to the game to encourage two-player gameplay


In addition to the official videos, we have some other videos to share for you as well.

Once again, Sheriff Woody over at our partners has a 6 part first look at gameplay of the playset

Be sure to head over to to watch all 6 segments!


Also our friends over at FamilyGamerTV also got a look at the gameplay and figures that make up the Inside Out Play Set

Inside Out Play Set will release this fall with Joy and Anger in the Play Set, and the rest of the emotions available to purchase in single packages

Remember to get your entries in to win a copy of Disney Infinity 3.0! You can enter each day in the month of May!



Have you followed me on Facebook or Twitter yet? I’ll keep you up on all Disney Infinity news!

Be sure to check out my weekly podcast, The Toys For Games ‘CastTalk all things in ‘Toys To Life’ genre!